World War One walks in Fulham
Year 6 girls from Kensington Prep School joined us this week for some walks around Fulham searching for clues about our World War One history. We visited the Fulham Palace Meadows allotments – established in 1916 when the Bishop of London gave up the land for local people to grow vegetables to cope with national food shortages. The girls used the World War One water pump to draw water up from the streams beneath the allotments. We also visited Fulham Palace and heard from curator Miranda Poliakoff how the Palace was turned into a hospital for a hundred wounded soldiers with shell shock during the war. In All Saints Church we found the flag and memorial plaques of the 25th County of London Cyclist battalion, who were totally unique, being the only entirely Cyclist Corps in existence, and were based just around the corner in Fulham House.
World War One projects and sessions coming up this year, there’s plenty of WW1 history to learn about from our local area!